Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner

SF Snoq - What made this print?

3K views 38 replies 20 participants last post by  apistomaster 
#1 ·
Went up fishing on the SF today. Came across a large wide gravel bar and noticed this set of tracks.

Now this was up off Tinkham Rd, so I know there are campers and dogs around. I am no expert, but I thought that feline prints will not show claw (retractable) while canine will. This was also a 30 minute river treck with one small crossing away from the nearest access. Anyone here able to identify this? Sorry for the crappy cellphone pic.

Even if it was a dog and not a cougar, it sure made me keep an eye out. Also made me focus on my poor casting ability so I wasn't having to fix knots so much. That's when the cougars will get ya! If that's not motivation to improve, I don't know what is.

See less See more
#5 ·
I'm leaning towards cougar as well. That is a cool area up there. You can come across some amazing wildlife. The below picture has a slight glimpse of a cinnamon black bear that I ran across on Tinkham Rd. a couple of years ago. Just below the center of the picture. I kicked myself for only having a cell phone camera that day.

Plant Natural landscape Wood Terrestrial plant Trunk

#7 ·
It's not the fear of being attacked, but rather knowing that I am being watched or tracked by it. It looks to be rather large judging by the size of the print too. I know what my 10lb tabby can do when she is in a bad mood...now add 90 lbs. A game warden I know showed me a picture he took of a deer on a road. Wasn't until he got the picture developed that he noticed a cougar 100 yds further down the road creeping out watching the deer....and him.