Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner

Switch or Spey?

Spey 
2K views 15 replies 12 participants last post by  hydrological 
#1 ·
On a recent trip to Pyramid Lake, an old baseball elbow injury reemerged after casting a shooting head with my 8 weight for 4 days. More than two months later, my elbow is still giving me problems so I've been thinking of buying my first two-handed rod. The problem is that I have no experience with such rods and don't know where to begin.

I would use it at Pyramid Lake twice a year with a fast sinking tip to hopefully increase my casting distance and save my elbow and for the occasional steelhead/salmon trip to the PNW. I'm leaning toward a 7 weight or 6/7 weight. Looking at a TCX or TFO Deer Creek and would also consider Echo. But first need to determine whether a switch or spey rod would be best for my intended use? Any advice appreciated.

G
#2 ·
I would say spey for learning but if you know what your doing then go with a switch. I started with a 7 wt switch rod, and had lots of trouble, then bought an 8wt 13'6 echo tr and things started to click. That 7wt now is substantially easier than before because the spey is a little more forgiving in my opinion when your learning

#4 ·
Are you planning on using the rod for spey type casts or overhead casts at Pyramid Lake? For spey casts, I would suggest a spey rod for some of the reasons that Bass stated above. Although some of the newer switch rods are in the 11.5' length and shouldn't be too difficult to learn. If you plan on doing overhead/two handed casting, I would suggest a switch. The lines you choose will depend on the type of casting and flies that you want to throw. From the choices that you mentioned, I would go for the TCX. They're great rods and you can get a great deal right now on closeout. If you plan on using your rod for steelheading, specifically winter steelheading, I would go for a 7 weight.

#5 ·