Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner

Zip up waders, whats the verdict?

10K views 57 replies 37 participants last post by  Steve Call 
#1 ·
I have been milking my old Hodgeman waders for going on 5 years now, patched em a few
times, dealt with the pinhole leaks and the mysterious wet spots after I take them off. Well I have finally talked the wife into letting me get a nice set of waders. I am not particularly hard on waders, but I do fish a ton (3 times per week in the summer, and at least once per week in the winter). I am looking at a set of Dan Bailey EZ zip waders, and was wondering if anyone has had any experience with them. I have read good reviews on some sites, but I take the advice of the guys on this site over any online review. I also saw that Simms has a set of zip ups, but they are a bit more spendy compared to the Bailey's.

Any thoughts positive or negative about the Bailey's? Any other brands that I should look at instead? I havn't heard many negative things about Bailey's, so I am leaning in that direction.

Thanks Guys :beer1::beer2:

#2 ·
Definitely try on the Baileys along with the Simms (I'd add Orvis to the mix for a 3rd). If you're thin side of average the Simms will be a much better fit; Baileys tend to be 'roomy' in the legs. IMO, 80% of the time the fit will easily decide for you.

Someone else will have to report on the zip-ups. For me, even if priced the same I'd stay away from them. Mine are easy to pull down midway and get over the brim. Plus I'd hate to lose the center positioning of my storage, hand-warmer pocket, etc. For what it's worth I went with the G3's and am more than happy with them. I gripe about the cost as much as the next guy but really it's all there for the $ spent relative to others. Whatever you do, highly recommend ones with no butt-crack seam (Simms and DB both did the re-routed seam).

Probably worth knowing, I'm on the skinny side. Bigger boys may take a different view of the zip-ups. Good luck + enjoy!

#3 ·