13 year old looking for good fishing

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by we FLY high, Feb 4, 2007.

1. High I am a resident of moses lake wa and my dad lives in newcastle wa.
    my step dad drops me off in cle elum every other weekend.I love to fly fish and am completely obsessed.:D can anyone point me to a spot on the cle elum river that holds fish?If so what fly do i use and what time of year is best?

2. We Fly high,

I would advise you to do the following:

1- Do not put your age on your posts.
    2- Do not tell people on the internet where you are going
    3- Get your dad or Stepdad or both to hire a guide and after you've been on the river once or twice with them, go out together and learn the river your own way, fishing together.
    4- Fish with a cellphone that works

3. I'm not an expert on eastern washington waters but.

What fly you use all depends on whats hatching, i dont anything will be hatching in the cold eastern washington waters right now, (besides the occasional midge) So i'd through out a wooley bugger or some other streamer pattern.

Also, you should follow wading boots advice and not give specifics on where your going, where you live, and how old you are. I'd at least take a buddy or better an adult with you as well, freezing water and humans dont mix well.

4. fully edited

5. Its called using the search function grasshopper...

6. The river that flows through Cle Elum, right next to the freeway in places, is the Yakima. I suspect that may be the river you mean to ask about. There is lots of good fishing in the river right near town. The Cle Elum river is a bit to the east and is not as good a river to fish.

I support what people have said before that you should find someone to fish the river with a couple of times. Going with a guide would be great, if your dad or step-dad can afford it.