13ft 7/8wt vs 14' 8wt

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by Manimal, Feb 21, 2009.

1. Manimal

Manimal Member

I have been fishing an imperial st croix 13' for a couple years now with a SA short head spey line.

I have now purchased a Sage FLI 8140 14' 8wt, havent bought the reel nor line yet.

Can someone comment on what the major difference will be between the two rods? Why would i choose to fish one over the other?

Any recommendations on line and reel for the sage?

thanks

2. Porter

Porter Active Member

you might want to let people know what sage it is. Many sage spey rods out there all with different actions.

3. Itchy Dog

Itchy Dog Some call me Kirk Werner

Media:
    Home Page:
    Porter, you just needed a second cup of coffee ;)

"Sage FLI 8140 14' 8wt"

4. Red Shed

Red Shed "junkyard spey"

Home Page:
    In my opinion the longer rod would be better on bigger water. It will give you a little more distance and fight the wind better.

A short head spey line in 8/9 or 8/9/10 will work nicely on that rod as will a mid-head in 8/9.

A 4"+ reel weighing 10oz to 11oz empty should balance the FLI nicely and hold a spey line with plenty of backing. The Ross CLA 6 would be a good choice @ a moderat price point.

5. Porter

Porter Active Member

Itchy...you needed to be up before the coffee was poured....he edited long after the third cup.
    :D

6. sothereiwas

sothereiwas Member

Media:
    I'm not to sure about the FLi but that St Croix is wicked with a Mid-Spey 6/7.

7. Panhandle

Panhandle Active Member

Media: