13ft 7/8wt vs 14' 8wt

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by Manimal, Feb 21, 2009.

1. Manimal Member

Vancouver
    Ratings: +2 / 0
    I have been fishing an imperial st croix 13' for a couple years now with a SA short head spey line.

I have now purchased a Sage FLI 8140 14' 8wt, havent bought the reel nor line yet.

Can someone comment on what the major difference will be between the two rods? Why would i choose to fish one over the other?

Any recommendations on line and reel for the sage?

thanks
  2. Porter Active Member

Kenmore, WA, USA.
    Ratings: +435 / 0
    you might want to let people know what sage it is. Many sage spey rods out there all with different actions.
  3. Itchy Dog Some call me Kirk Werner

Doo-vall
    Ratings: +260 / 0
    Porter, you just needed a second cup of coffee ;)

"Sage FLI 8140 14' 8wt"
  4. Red Shed "junkyard spey"

Peck, ID
    Ratings: +7 / 0
    In my opinion the longer rod would be better on bigger water. It will give you a little more distance and fight the wind better.

A short head spey line in 8/9 or 8/9/10 will work nicely on that rod as will a mid-head in 8/9.

A 4"+ reel weighing 10oz to 11oz empty should balance the FLI nicely and hold a spey line with plenty of backing. The Ross CLA 6 would be a good choice @ a moderat price point.
  5. Porter Active Member

Kenmore, WA, USA.
    Ratings: +435 / 0
    Itchy...you needed to be up before the coffee was poured....he edited long after the third cup.
    :D
  6. sothereiwas Member

Issaquah, WA
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    I'm not to sure about the FLi but that St Croix is wicked with a Mid-Spey 6/7.
  7. Panhandle Active Member

Selkirk Mountains, Idaho Panhandle
    Ratings: +23 / 0