2 fly rig for resident coho question ?

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by cutthroat kid, Nov 23, 2012.

1. cutthroat kid

cutthroat kid cut throat kid

If I tie a lighter fly to my tippet and the then tie tippet from the bend in the hook from that fly, leading to a 2nd heavier fly like a 1 inch polychaete worm, how long should the length of the tippet be to the second fly ,so I can still get decent turn over on my line and presenation. ?

Is there a good website or utube vidio showing how to do this set up ?

2. stilly stalker

stilly stalker Tuna sniffer

3. cutthroat kid

cutthroat kid cut throat kid

so as long as the second fly is heavier than the first one ( like a small 1 inch polychaete worm ) and I tie a clinch knot to the bend in the hook from a light krill fly to the heavier polychaet fly, I should still be ok false casthing their , wont be too many tangles ?

I have never tried it before, but local fly shop suggested it today.

4. stilly stalker

Ive done it many times. Id actually consider a dropper loop and seperate tippet, combined with a more open loop cast to prevent snarls. This way, your hookup to land ratio on the 1st fly increases. Really for me, Im a one fly guy for the most part, gimme a clouser, or epoxy sandlance pattern and Im confident. If I was to want to fish a polychete or amphipod pattern, Id be using a very different retrieve, and would likely just fish a single fly.

5. stilly stalker

Stiff tippet material like Maxima chameleon helps a TON preventing tangles. Ultragreen is stiffer than most materials, but chameleon is VERY stiff and wiry and makes for the best leader material for this application

6. Pat Lat

Pat Lat Mad Flyentist

Media: