2 man pontoon - usable by 1?

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by sjsienna, Sep 11, 2007.

1. sjsienna

sjsienna New Member

So I have been researching pontoon boats and have decided that I think a 2 man version would be the most versatile -- can go out together with a buddy, and can set it up for 1 man use when only I will be going out.

My question: how maneuverable is it likely to be? I realize it will be larger and thus likely more awkward than a smaller 1 man version, but by how much? I'd like to use it on flat water, as well as rivers - some maybe heavier water (N Umpqua may be an example of where I'd *like* to take it).

I have been looking at the Scadden/North Fork McKenzie X2 (on sale for $1600 right now which seems like a significantly good deal).

Any thoughts on this? I am a newbie, and realize I will have a learning curve before hitting the more difficult waters.

thanks in advance

2. Nathan M Daines

Nathan M Daines Natives

Media:
    That is the same boat I purchased this spring. Have used it several times always with a passenger. On lakes with a little electric motor works great and does a good job on big and small rivers. I have taken it down the Skagit, the nooksack, the sky and the Snoq. Does really well in low water and I can turn it pretty quick, but I have never set it up for one person. The pontoons are 13' long, I guess it would work. It was a really good investment, my only regret is that I did'nt get two. I go out with my brothers every week and always end up leaving some one behind.
    Anyways hope this helps, let me know if you have any questions.

Nate

3. speyfisher

speyfisher Active Member

N. Umpqua

I've never seen anyone float the N.U. At least not the flywater. Are there regs against floating that section? Is it just tradition? Or am I just not up there enough to have seen it?

4. sjsienna

sjsienna New Member

Nathan

thanks for the response - good feedback.