2 wt on the upper Yakima??

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by JasonG, Oct 20, 2013.

1. JasonG Active Member

Issaquah Wa
    Ratings: +41 / 0
    I'm planning to extend my trout fishing thru the fall and into the winter. I have a 5wt 9 ' 6" and a 2wt 7' 6". Im new to nymphing aka I haven't tried it yet. I have been content just throwing dry flies on the South Fork of the Snoqualmie. I want to branch out and get into the Upper Yak near Lake Keechelus. I have noticed the water in a bit skinny around that area. I'm wondering if I can get away with the 2wt ?? I dont want to snap my rod. The 9'6" just seems to long (aka snag city). Any advice on this would be awesome. Thanks Jason
  2. Porter Active Member

Kenmore, WA, USA.
    Ratings: +485 / 0
    2 weight it baby!!! Go for it and don't look back. If your afraid of snapping your rod you will miss many opportunities....and chances of snapping are under 1 % for these waters ;)
    fredaevans and Ed Call like this.
  3. Jerry Metcalf FishyJere

Enumclaw, WA
    Ratings: +35 / 0
    I have fished 2wts (Sage XP's) in Leech Lake for years. There are nice triploids in there, up to 18" or so. I have had no breakage problems.

Remember, the fish only have so far to go, the reel has a lot of line on it in relation to where the fish can travel, and you have some control.

Don't panic, don't high stick and don't be afraid to move a bit (safely) to improve your leverage. The power in these small rods is down quite low, down near the grip. A 45 deg angle, no more than 60, is fine. Basically, you fight them from the reel.

I never use ultra light tippet, 5X super floro is the minimum. It is stealthy enough. In a stream with dries, 4x works fine and you are able to control the fish just fine.

The result is a hoot, the little ones feel big and the big ones feel - wow!

Go try it.
  4. tightlines411 Member

SF Bay Area
    Ratings: +1 / 0