3 weight question

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by tyler, Jun 13, 2005.

1. tyler

tyler Member

having grown up fishing the northeast salt, i’m kinda new to the western trout game. been having a blast on the yakima the last year and now have discovered the joys (and solitude) of fishing drys on small water for small native fish.

i have lust in my heart for a 3 weight, but what length? can anyone offer advice/commentary on the pros and cons of the various lengths? seems like the range is 7’ – 9’. any thoughts? thanks.

t

2. Kent Lufkin

Kent Lufkin Remember when you could remember everything?

So-called light line rods are best when fishing for smaller fish. An 8 inch fish can put a serious bend in most 3wt or lighter rods and makes playing the fish more fun. I love 'em for fishing waters where a 12" fish is a trophy.

The shorter length rods are used mostly to fish small streams where a 30 foot cast is the most you need and/or you may be casting under an overhang of trees or bushes. But if you plan to fish out of a float tube or pontoon, the longer length rods will keep your line from slapping the water on either end of your cast. Most 3wt and lighter rods have a slower action than their heavier weight brothers.

But lighter rods aren't just for small fish - many guys use them for larger fish as well. Don't believe the myth that playing a large fish on light line rods means you'll be needlessly tiring them. Tippet test rating is the determining factor in whether a fish breaks off or not. Using 3X tippet, you can horse a fish in just as quickly with a 3wt as with a 6wt rod. Likewise, you can break it off just as easily with 7X tippet on either weight rod.

K

3. Nooksack Mac

Nooksack Mac Active Member