3wt or 4wt for Snoqualmie and small creeks/rivers

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Driften, Aug 17, 2006.

1. Driften

Driften New Member

I have been doing a lot of searching and reading of the group here. I am new to fly fishing and need help on picking a rod. For the near term I plan on fishing the forks of the Snoqualmie. I will be looking to progress to other creeks and small streams. I care more about accuracy and presentation then casting for distance. To me that means a non-fast rod.

From reading the posts here about "best rod for creeks and streams" and best under $200 type of threads. I am thinking of a 3wt 8'6" Sage Launch or the 4wt 9'. I need a 4pc rod to make it easy to put in my trunk.
    I have seen listed at mrfc on clearnce VPS Light 379-3,389-3 for $80 more then the Launch. People here seem to rave about the LL based tapers.

What reel and line would be best for the rod (on a budget that is)?

FYI I am taking a fly class in a few weeks with a buddy but I really want to learn on my gear so that what I learn is being applied to what I own.

Thanks for the help!

Jeff
    Issaquah, WA

2. Rory McMahon

Rory McMahon Active Member

Media:
    Home Page:
    I would go with a TFO Professional series 3 wt 8' 6". I have one and love it. If you shop around you might be able to find it under $100. It usually sells for around $140. As for the reel, you dont need a special 3 wt reel if you get the 8' 6" version. I just have a Okuma Sierra 4/5 and it works great. Its pretty cheap, about $40. As for the line, the cortland 444 lines always have great reviews. Anything in the $30-$50 price range shhould be good.

3. JS

JS Active Member

Media:
    I have a Echo 3wt that i love on small creeks. The action is kind of slow but it turns over light tippets like easy money.
    Skeels

4. FishBoyNB

FishBoyNB New Member