5 Saltwater Options - maybe someone can help?

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by Alexander, Sep 11, 2010.

1. Alexander Fishon

WA
    Ratings: +162 / 0
    OK, so I'm new to the (puget sound) saltwater fly fishing game and obviously want to have a dedicated fly box for saltwater.

IF you could only have 5 different patterns to fish the salt with, which patterns would they be? I say 5 patterns that would cover SRC and Salmon.

Seems like the Miyawaki beach popper is a must, what else?
  2. Peter Pancho Active Member

Gig Harbor,WA
    Ratings: +8 / 0
    - White over pink #6 Clouser is "The Standard" for Coho
    - Larry's Popcicle is numero uno in my book for SRC
  3. RedFive Member

Initech
    Ratings: +1 / 0
    1) Clousers in the following colors: chartreuse over white, olive over white and pink over white. Brown over white wouldn't hurt, either. Tie them fairly sparse.
    2) Chum baby
    3) Woolly Bugger, olive, white, and black
    4) Some sort of euphausiid pattern, a small Crazy Charlie type pattern usually does it for me.

Can't help you with a fifth one. I don't typically go into more variety than numbers 1 through 3 with Clousers in the color combinations above being my staple throughout most of the year.
  4. DimeBrite MA-9 Beach Stalker

Marine Area 9
    Ratings: +258 / 0
    5.) Epoxy sandlance (don't leave home without them).
  5. Stonefish Triploid and Humpy Hater

Pipers Creek
    Ratings: +1,151 / 1
    + 1 on DimeBrite's expoxy sandlance pattern.

Just a couple of other suggestions in regards to salmon flies:

1. Have a few large unweighted herring patterns, preferably tied with a stinger hook. When you see guys tossing 6" herring and hooking up hog coho on a consistent basis, you'll understand why you have them in your box.

2. Clousers - Tie some up in solid colors....all white, pink, chartreuse and orange.