8wt sink tip line question

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Ryan Higgins, Oct 22, 2013.

1. Ryan Higgins Active Member

East Wenatchee, WA
    Ratings: +33 / 0
    Looking at picking up a new 8wt single hand combo for Steelhead. I'm thinking of going with a Sage Approach 8wt rod and a Lamson Litespeed 3x reel. Looking at 8wt sink tip lines I'm not sure what rate of sink to get. I mainly fish the Wenatchee, Methow, and Sky rivers. I'm thinking a 6" per second sink would be ideal, get the fly down to the desired depth of around 6-9' or deeper quick so I have my fly in the strike zone near the bottom for the majority of my run, but I'm a total noob when it comes to this. What is the consensus on this? What is everyone else using. Looking specifically at the Scientific Angler Mastery Wet Tip lines. Trying to buy the whole package from one local source (Pacific Fly Fishers to be exact). I wont be going 2 hander as I don't feel my casting ability is up to it. I want to try and double this rod as a bass rod as well, but the top priority is Steelhead. Thanks!
  2. Evan Virnoche Guest

Ratings: +0 / 0
    15 feet t10 and 15 intermediete sink tip
  3. jake-e-boy Active Member

Kennewick
    Ratings: +202 / 0
    Wenatchee sucks with a single hand rod. I would highly suggest going 2h for Wenatchee and meth, hell sky too
  4. Ryan Higgins Active Member

East Wenatchee, WA
    It's a learning curve. I fully plan on going 2h in the future, I just know my skill level isn't there yet. I also fish from a drift boat 70% of the time on these rivers so distance isn't huge.
  5. Salmo_g Active Member

Your City ,State
    Ratings: +1,615 / 0
    Alpine4x4,

Nothing wrong in choosing a single hand rod for steelheading. Sheesh, we used them effectively for decades until 2-handers became the steelheading fashion statement of the 90s. Fish what you can use well.