A new technique

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Tony the Trout, Oct 7, 2010.

1. Tony the Trout Member

Seattle,WA
    Ratings: +1 / 0
    I recently stumbled upon a new technique that worked well for me. How many times have you been fishing a river and gotten to a spot where you wish you were opposite handed? I was recently fishing my favorite river and watching a large fish surfacing repeatedly in an area where a right handed cast was impossible due to a lack of back casting room. In the past I would have tried casting back handed (which I'm not very good at) and either been unable to get the cast far enough or landed the fly in a big splashing coil of my fly line thus spooking the fish.

This time though a light bulb went off. I simply turned around and had my back facing up stream where I was trying to cast. I started casting with my normal casting motion and simply released on my back cast. Not only did this allow me to use my natural casting motion but I was also able to keep an eye on my cast keeping it out of the trees. On about the 3rd attempt I was rewarded by watching a fat 17" bow obliterate my stimulator and go airborn several times before finally coming to hand.

Maybe you are better at casting back handed than I am or maybe you can cast opposite handed. Maybe everyone already does this and I'm just late to the party. But if you find yourself in a similar situation you might give it a shot. It worked for me so I thought I would share.

Tony
  2. Dustin Bise Active Member

Ratings: +7 / 0
    I use the back release for tricky presentations sometimes, but after getting some advice from a casting legend, and a bit of practice, the roll cast has become one of my favorite casts for presenting dries.
  3. lespaulrock Member

Washington
    Ratings: +0 / 0
  4. Skysoldier Trout Hunter

Lost in the woods.....
    Ratings: +184 / 0
    iagree
  5. ak_powder_monkey Proud to Be Alaskan

Eagle River, Alaska
    Ratings: +112 / 0