"A River Runs Through it" and Mental Health

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Michael Hinkle, Aug 13, 2009.

1. Guys and Gals,

I have an inquiry. I am a Case Manager for a youth suicide residential facilty here in yakima. There is a strange phenomana I wanted to run by you guys and get some imput on.

Most of my patients have ADHD or a bunch of other mental illness problems. They are very active and sometimes out of control. Many of them have been abused when they were younger and all of them are suicidal.

But an interesting thing happens when a river runs through it comes on, or I bring out my fly rod. everything gets quite, every one in the facility stops what they are doing to watch the film or watch me cast, or they want to try to cast. This does not happen with any other movie or any other activity. These kids, regardless of thier diagnosis, are captivated by the thought of fly fishing.

anyone know why? could it be that fly fishing, casting are theraputic? what is it that makes adhd kids relax with a fly rod in there hands?

Any imputs gents? -

2. Very interesting Mike!

I don't know the answer, but I can tell you this; there is something almost magical about the way fly line moves through the air with a good cast that makes me relax. Fly fishing has become my escape...my outlet to recharge my batteries. I can guess the same goes for them. With everything else in life, I'm sure these kids can make a connection to their past or troubles, but with fly casting, they forget all and just focus on the line, timing, rythmic motion, and the shear art of it. And maybe, just maybe some of them think to themselves, "wow, that's amazing...I'd love to try that someday." I think it's great that you're exposing them to something they're not familiar with that captivates their attention. Who knows, maybe you've stumbled onto a new form of therapy. Run with it man, there are no rules that say it can't work!