accidentally discarding flies in the lake

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Allison, Apr 24, 2006.

1. Allison Banned or Parked

Seattle, WA
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    I've heard it's a common practice for new fly fishers to lose flies in the lake, stream, or whatever body of water they are fishing. Assuming the knots are good, what causes this? I'm a good little knot tyer and am losing bucketloads of flies when I am casting/fishing.

What the hell am I doing wrong to be losing all these #@$^!!! flies? I'm not good at tying yet, and flies are at a premium. Usually I am getting tippet with no fly and a wrinkled bit on the end of the tippet. So maybe it IS the knot to tie the fly onto the tippet????

**this is NOT including flies lost to the reeds, backcasting into the grass, or faulty fish landing practices. I'm only asking about the ones that are mysteriously leaving the end of my tippet.**
  2. Zen Piscator Supporting wild steelhead, gravel to gravel.

Missoula, MT
    Ratings: +13 / 0
    What knot are u using? It does sound like faulty knot tying is mostly to blame. Also, wait a bit on the back cast, alot of newer fishers snap off flies all the time when they hurry the casting.

And, there isnt much need to ever go under 5x, and yesterday i used 5x for the first time in 2 years, but that was also the first time in 2 years or whenever that I had fished the ford.

I usually stick to 0, 2, or for smaller trout 4x for my lightest applications.

Also, are you wetting your knots with saliva? Tying a knot and cinching it tight while try will reduce breaking strengh hugely.

Peace,
    Andy
  3. Michael Brady New Member

Seattle, WA
    What method of tying the flies on are you using.
    I go with a Uni-Knot. I haven't lost a fly except for the occasional tree snag.
  4. jeff bandy Make my day

Edmonds, Wa.
    Ratings: +284 / 1