Add Cork Ring To Finished Rod?

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by HauntedByWaters, Oct 13, 2008.

1. HauntedByWaters Active Member

Bellingham
    Ratings: +104 / 0
    I have little rod building experience so I have no clue if this is a stupid question.

So I was going to build a Rainshadow Switch 6wt and than I found one already finished at a great price and snatched it up late last week.

The problem is that the rod was built for saltwater fishing and the handle is pretty much only meant for overhand casting.

I fished it a couple of days this weekend and was missing a fatter section of cork at the top of the handle to get a better grip on the rod during spey casts.

Is it possible to carefully remove a section of cork from a finished handle, add a fatter ring and than sand the whole thing even again and have it look good?

If not, I can live with it, just thinking about doing a mod like this in the future if it is feasible.
  2. SSPey Member

Oregon
    Ratings: +9 / 0
    yes, no problem. To get a straight cut edge on the existing cork, wrap masking tape as a guide all the way around the cork at the point where you want to cut. Then use a razor blade to cut the cork all way around. I've done this a few times now. Take your time and you'll get a perfectly straight edge to match up against new cork that you'd like to add
  3. HauntedByWaters Active Member

Bellingham
    Ratings: +104 / 0
    AWESOME!

So if I get a couple of fancy and beautiful cork rings, how do I split them properly in half to not have any gaps or anything when they come back together. Obviously, I would like it to look pretty.

What grit of sandpaper is best for finishing touches?

I have access to a wood shop with a lot of power sanders and lathes for fine wood working, it has about 4 types of sanders, one belt, one a vertical cylinder, and others. Any idea which of these tools is best used for working the cork handle?

What is the preferred glue for this?