Advice on Pontoon Boat

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by Derf, Aug 8, 2011.

1. Derf

Derf New Member

I’m looking to buy a 10-12ft pontoon boat to mainly fish rivers and would like some advice. I have no experience even riding in a pontoon boat.

I’m looking for a smaller, lighter boat with capability to add a passenger, occasionally fish from the boat platform, lightweight enough to put in the water myself, capable of adding a small motor. Rated to handle Class III (when I have enough experience) I’ve probable spent hours reading forums and looking at Skookum, Catchercraft, Outcast, Buck’s Bags, Scadden, Aire, WaterReady, just to name a few. I have about $3k for a budget.

My concern is I will buy a boat and after using it discover I needed something more. Any advice? :beathead:

2. BDD

BDD Active Member

Home Page:
    It can be a little challenging finding a boat that is smaller and lighter but yet have the capability to add another person and adding a small outboard. You may have to compromise a bit and list the features most important to you when deciding which boat is best for your needs.

Here are a couple of options: If you plan to use it solo with the occasional second passenger, then you may consider a 10' boat with an extended anchor system to allow a jump seat for a second person (Skookum and Catchercraft have this option). Outcast, Buck's, Scadden, and Aire don't offer much in the way of customization so their factory boats are what you get. Skookum, Catchercraft, and possibly WaterReady offer custom work on their frames.

If you plan to have a second person more often than not, consider a two-person boat but when you go solo or want a lighter boat, you could remove the passenger module and only use the rower module.

All the brands you mention offer boats capable of Class III water but not all have solid motor mounts for small outboards.