Akroyd attempt

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Ryan Nathe, Oct 26, 2011.

1. Ryan Nathe Member

Seattle, WA
    Ratings: +7 / 0
    This is my first attempt at an Akroyd. Any suggestions on how to improve my tying? The turkey wing didn't sit down as far as I would have liked and I think I could have tied the materials in closer to the bend by a few millimiters. Anything else?

Appreciate the input.

-Ryan

View attachment 45159
  2. Travis Bille Active Member

McKinleyville, CA
    Ratings: +362 / 0
    Better than I could do! good job
  3. Jack Devlin Active Member

Western Washington, Puget Sound area
    Ratings: +960 / 1
    Akroyd looks good although for some reason I can't get the photo to show up larger so it is a bit hard for me to see.
    Davie McPhail has a white winged Akroyd on his you tube site. Perhaps you have seen it.
    JackD

Ryan, I'm new at this site so I had trouble loading photo but was finally able to do so.
    Here is a link to Davie McPhails White Winged Akroyd which he ties so nicely. Maybe can be of help to you.
    FT's comments are spot on.
    JackDhttp:

//www.youtube.com/user/DavieMcPhail#p/search/0/u-egZaFxA20
  4. FT Active Member

Burlington, WA
    Ratings: +102 / 0
    Ryan,

It is tough to tell how you did and offer suggestions due to the size of you photo being on the small side. A larger photo would allow for a better analysis and better suggestions for improvement. Also, a top-of-fly photo (or a photo that shows the top of the fly as well as the sides) is needed to see if you have set the wings properly. Dee wings need to have the butts of the wings at the tie-in tightly butted up against each other without overlapping of any sort. If they overlap, they will split when fished. That is why a photo showing the top of the wing would be useful.