Aluminum drift boat design

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by 3dig, Mar 19, 2011.

1. Greetings WFF!

I am an aluminum boat designer with 8 yrs experience looking to design an aluminum drift boat. I have zero water time on such a craft, and was hoping to gain some insight as to what works and what does not. The end result of this experiment will be a cut tape of an aluminum hull to which "serious contributers" to this thread may have access to. My intention will also be to kick something back to WFF website if any currency is generated. I just hatched this plan this morning and its full of pitfalls im sure, but I want to get a dialog started and see if there is any interest..Attached is a quick mock-up.

2. looking good so far man

3. Your basic shape looks good.

Can you turn on dimensioning in your software so we can get some idea of the scale and porportions?

After having built a wooden driftboat, I'd personally start with around 16 feet of length. Beam will be a matter of some debate I'm sure.

As far as other design ideas right from the get-go:

- Design the transom so it's reinforced to accept outboards up to 10 HP or an anchor mount.

- As important as the hull design is, I think a lot more attention has to be paid to designing the interior. This will have implications for the hull because you'll need to design reinforcement in some areas for through bolting, and so forth.

Keep going, looking good so far.

Grouse

4. Lots of really good drift boats out there. I have many friends with them and no two own the same boat. They all perform well in the water, less draft seems to be preferred. The interior design is what I think will make or break you.