Any fly muskie anglers out there?

Discussion in 'Warm Water Species' started by vinceweirick, Nov 2, 2010.

1. vinceweirick New Member

Leesburg, IN
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    I have been guiding for muskies for the past 9 years. About 3 years ago I started fly fishing for them and have had a blast! My largest to date is a 42" muskie that I caught while out fishing with my dad.
    View attachment 35656
  2. NDflyfisher Member

North Dakota
    Ratings: +2 / 0
    I just started fishing for Muskies this year. They are an incredible fish to catch on a flyrod. I only flyfish and they are my new favorite fish to chase. They like the shallows when most warmwater fish go deep and they feed near the top most of the time so the takes are very visual. I enjoy that there is no such thing as a lucky fly caught muskie. You have to put in your time on the water, learn and study everything about them to get the privilege to catch a 40"+ on the fly.
    [IMG]
  3. jcalderon Member

A JUNGLE NEAR YOU
    Awsome Work guys! here in WA we only have planted tiger muskie, however, I made a few trips for them with a few follows, and no fish landed. I am interested in some of your guy's fly patterns for musky. If you dont care to share publicly, feel free to PM with a few pics.
  4. Alexander Fishon

WA
    Ratings: +263 / 0
    Great stuff!!! I too am interested in some of your guy's fly patterns... :D Pics?
  5. Alexander Fishon

WA
    Ratings: +263 / 0
    I've caught Pike on flies before but not Muskie
  6. NDflyfisher Member

North Dakota
    Large EP flies or flared deer hair flies on a 2/0 or 3/0 hook, 8"-12" long. Forget bunny strips they don't have enough body and get to heavy when tied muskie size to cast all day. Muskie flies don't need to be perfect they just need to be big, bulky and I like them to have big eyes.
  7. vinceweirick New Member

Leesburg, IN