Any love for Type III lines?

Discussion in 'Stillwater' started by IveofIone, Oct 26, 2012.

1. IveofIone

IveofIone Active Member

I have an old brown Type III that must be about 20 years old. T-3's get very little press and I seldom hear of anyone fishing them. I like it because it gets the fly down quicker and allows me to fish a little deeper water than my intermediates. It is time to replace the old beater with a modern steady sink line. I am looking at an SA Mastery Uniform Sink Plus in a 5wt. Any thoughts on this-is there something better I should be looking at? I have no experience with steady sink lines but can see that I would probably be better off using them than what I'm using now.

Ive

2. bakerite

bakerite Active Member

I have a type II SA uniform sink that is a good line. I hardly ever use it since I got a clear intermediate that sinks almost as fast. The uniform sink lines work sinking tip first. When I'm fishing water deeper than my intermediate line will cover, I use either a bobber and weighted flies or a yo-yo retrieve, floating flies on a type six line, letting the line sink to the bottom and using a fairly short leader to keep them close to the fish.

3. Ed Call

Ed Call Mumbling Moderator Staff Member

Media:
    I like my type iii and vi lines very much. Each gets used in the right lakes to fish the depths or across drops that hold fish.

4. Jeff Dodd

Jeff Dodd Active Member

Media:
    My type 3 is an inexpensive cortland 333 line and this year I have pulled it out several times with success. It will continue to occupying valuable realestate on one of my only 4 spools

5. Tim Lockhart

Tim Lockhart Active Member

Media:
    Hey Ive,