Anybody been fishing South Sound for cuts?

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by wittouck, Nov 27, 2004.

1. Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie on the message board and was hoping someone could give me some pointers on where to go for searun cuts in South Sound? I haven't been able to find any current reports and I am itching to hit the salt!

Thanks,

Jon

2. Do a search on South Sound, Beach fishing, Cutts, SRC etc. Then study all of that carefully. There is a ton of good info there in a host of topics and threads and posts.

3. Thanks Bob! I'll do some searching.

4. Until about 2 weeks ago there were still many SRC in estuary areas. Most fish have now followed chum salmon up into spawning areas. However, a few SRC can still be found in the saltchuck. Early/mid-March the SRC fishing should start getting good again on Puget Sound when the chum fry outmigrate.

Resident silver fishing is starting to pick up on the Sound. Have started to target this fisheries over the last couple of weeks and have been getting some fish.

5. Fished Key Peninsula estuaries including the north end of Hood Canal today with O_Mykiss, and let me tell you - it was a slow, slow go. There are some tired old chum around, and a very few that looked spunky - but no biters. We saw a coho or two, too, red ones. Tried lots of likely SRC spots, but just couldn't find any searuns.

By the way, what you've heard about O_Mykiss is true, if you've heard this: http://www.washingtonflyfishing.com/board/showthread.php?t=21783&highlight=mykiss