anyone fly fish kellogg lake by sultan?

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by newflyguy, Sep 1, 2002.

1. newflyguy

newflyguy New Member

I am brand new to flyfishing and I am going fishing on Kellogg lake near Sultan and was wondering if anyone has fished it and what to use. It has large mouth bass, perch, black crappie, brook trout? and cutthroat. I have a 8.5' #7 pole and WF7F AND WF7S lines. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

newflyguy

2. Old Man

Old Man Just an Old Man

Media:
    I might be old---but I'm good.

I don't know if this will help but to fish it you need a boat. I would think a wood or metal would work good as it has a lot of sunken logs and lots of them laying every which way. I don't think that I would try it with a float tube or a pontoon boat unless you are very brave.

One more thing,if I was new to fly fishing. I would think that I would try somethimg just a little eaaier than that lake.

One more thing,there's no shore access.

I hope you have a good time on your first time out.

Jim

3. newflyguy

newflyguy New Member

Thanks for the tip. I will be fishing in a boat with a guy from work. I was hoping someone could tell me what size and type of flies to use.

newflyguy

4. Rob Blomquist

Rob Blomquist Formerly Tight Loops

Media:
    I've fished it twice in the early season for trout and struck out both times.

You will need a boat of some sort, as the only access to the lake is very shallow, and continues along for about 300' before its more than knee deep to the bottom mud. I have no idea if its wadeable, as the western end is an excavated peat bog. and if the eastern end is, then you may find yourself in a bottomless hole if you try to wade.

As to flys, poppers will work on bass. wooley buggers will work on all the species, and some small adams would be nice if mayflies or midges are hatching.

And your rod is plenty big for fishing for bass, if not oversized for the rest.

Rob

5. jackchinook

jackchinook Member

Media: