Anyone have any experience with South Carolina Redfish?

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by GoDeep, Jan 28, 2010.

1. GoDeep

GoDeep "Fish hard and fish often"

I'll be in Charleston SC at the end of March and I was thinking about doing a little redfishing. Does anyone have any experience in that area at that time of year? I know that the winter season is the best for sightfishing.....just not sure what the end of March would be like. Thanks for any help.

2. Van BT's

Van BT's New Member

I used to live in Jacksonville florida so i have some experience with the reds down there in the st. johns and intercoastal waterway. out in the backcountry and the marshes and creeks the high tides will be extra high that time of year, and the reds love it. i'm talking like at low tide you'll be able to see a marshy island and mud flat, and then come back at high tide and you might be lucky to see the tips of the grass on the surface. it's places like that, where the water covers up areas that normally aren't covered, that you want to fish. you'll see the tails of 'em as they feed eradically during the high tide, and they'll hit almost anything. a black clouser minnow with red eyes is my personal fav, but any shrimp or fiddler crab pattern will also work well. glad somebody posted something in my area of expertise lol; i'm new to washington.

3. herl

herl Member