Anyone here fish the Mustad Circle Streamer hooks?

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by Alexander, Dec 20, 2013.

1. Alexander

Alexander Fishon

Media:
    Bought a bunch of Mustad Circle Streamer hooks C71S SS 2xh/1xl. Before these hooks I've never seen circle streamer hooks before. I've seen "regular" circle hooks but never streamer. So I've been tying up some flies on them and can't wait to fish them.

Anyhow, do any of you use them and notice a difference in hook up/retaining weight or any other thoughts/experiences with a streamer hook like this?

2. formerguide

formerguide Active Member

I've never used the streamer circle hooks before, but many years ago when circle hooks first started becoming popular, I tied up some flies for stripers and bluefish to try. Played around with them a bit, and I am not a fan in the least...

The idea behind the circle hook of course, is that you don't need/want to strike when a fish hits, but let the hook slowly come tight and the fish, in essence, sets the hook itself. Also, you should have fewer deep hook sets in theory, which makes sense when bait fishing. Bait is where they make perfect sense, particularly with big pelagic fish like billfish and the like.

But it doesn't make nearly as much sense when fly fishing. Firstly and foremost, fish don't want tp hold onto artificials, and so the circle hook immediately loses much of it's effectiveness. And even more troubling for me, I do NOT want to change my innate, built-in response to strike when a fish hits, especially if switching between hook styles. The ability to naturally and without thought strip-striking a fish when you get an eat, to me, is invaluable. I do not want to have to consciously make an adjustment and change what comes naturally to me to accommodate a different hook style.