Back/shoulder pain

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by Paul Huffman, Oct 23, 2013.

1. Paul Huffman Lagging economic indicator

Yakima, WA.
    Ratings: +148 / 0
    After a long day of casting an 8wt. compact skagit, this year I've been presenting a painful knot down below my right scapula. It might be low in my traps or rhomboids. Do you have any advice on how to stretch this out, and any conditioning exercises to avoid this? I'm already doing upright and inclined rows, lateral raises, mac raises, rotator cuff raises at the gym which helps my casting endurance. I've been casting for quite a few years now, and I don't think I'm starting to grip too hard or over work the rod. Maybe it's that I've been casting for quite a few years and age is creeping up on me.

I searched the forum and found this post but the guy has a somewhat different problem: http://www.washingtonflyfishing.com/forum/index.php?threads/sore-muscles.40217/
  2. Rick LaRiviere Active Member

Ratings: +47 / 0
    Hey Paul,

The years of casting have been catching up with me too. Just wanted to let you know about this stuff that I learned about a few years ago. It's called BioFreeze. It's something like Icy Hot pain rub, but works so much better. Just rub this stuff deep into the sore muscle area until it begins to set up and becomes difficult to rub. You won't believe how much better it will feel in the morning. I've got tubes of this stuff everywhere, bathroom, nightstand, truck, travel bag, wader bag, gear bag... Works like magic.

Rick
  3. Danielocean Steelhead Virgin

Monroe
    Ratings: +663 / 0
    See a doctor.
  4. Paul Huffman Lagging economic indicator

Yakima, WA.
    There's a Doctor of Fisheries in the next office. UW 1978. I can see him from here.
  5. SteveA Gnu to the board

Western WA
    Ratings: +33 / 0