bass & bullheads!

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by gemein, Sep 3, 2002.

1. gemein

gemein New Member

I'm new to the Yakima area and am looking for some good bass/bullhead ponds in the area (between naches and prosser, give or take). Anybody have some favorite spots?

2. Paul Huffman

Paul Huffman Lagging economic indicator

Media:
    Home Page:
    I'm in your situation too. Don't know much about bass, but I took the advice on this forum about fishing evening hours with a big popping bug, letting it sit after throwing it out until all the rings dissipate, then twitching it. I tried this last saturday between Lyle and Bingen, and was surprised at the big slurping rises this induced. I didn't think there was anything that big in these ponds.

Local biologists told me that electrofishing in the lower Satus ponds Corral and Round Lake produced the biggest Largemouth bass they've seen around here. Also lots of carp. But hard to get to, you need to walk in a half mile. Hard to fish due to brush. A float tube would be helpful. [http://www.ynwildlife.org/satus.htm]

3. Old Man

Old Man Just an Old Man

Media:
    I might be old---but I'm good.

What do you do with bullheads. I didn't think anybody fished for them.

4. Preston

Preston Active Member

Could be he's talking about catfish, not sculpins.

5. Chris Bailey

Chris Bailey Member

You need a tribal permit to fish those lakes, right? I was planning to hunt that area this year and noticed on the permit that it was for hunting and fishing. It got me thinking about where you could fish on the reservation. I'll have to check out those ponds. Is there a trail that one could drag a pontoon boat?

Another option is the series of I-82 ponds. I haven't fished those in years, but they were always full of bass and sunfish.

6. gemein

gemein New Member