Bass fly fishing Help!!!!!

Discussion in 'Warm Water Species' started by PatrickM, May 2, 2006.

1. PatrickM New to fly fishing

Foster City, California
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    Hello everybody!!!!!

I am pretty new to fly fishing and i cant seem to catch any bass with a fly rod....

is there a special technique or method that i should know about catching bass with a fly?

is there certain fly patterns that work better than others?

i have gone out about 4 times to the same spot and the bass are jumping but none of them seem interested in my flies. it has reached the point that i feel the fish are jumping to say "hahahahaha you can't catch me!!!!!!"

i need help!!!!!!

Patrick M
  2. Nova PA CHOMP PA CHEWY CHEWY CHOMP

Sugarhouse, UT
    Sometimes all it takes is the right presentation. Try switching up ur retreives from slow to fast to erratic. Bass love wounded prey, and lots of cover. Try even letting the fly set for 30 seconds to a minute then give er some jerks let it sit again. You'll get it.

Heres some read for ya
    http://www.waywardflyfishing.com/articleBass.htm
  3. PatrickM New to fly fishing

Foster City, California
    cool thanks!!! i will have to try all of that!!!!

would you say that waiting for 30 secs to 1 min would make it seem like the fly is wounded? or that the fly is just relaxing?

Patrick M.
  4. Nova PA CHOMP PA CHEWY CHEWY CHOMP

Sugarhouse, UT
    Wounded mostly. It just depends on the situation i guess. I have used quick 1 sec short reptative jerks to long quirky jerks to rod twitch jerks. Its usually with poppers and frog patterns but also minnows. Its been sometime since Ive stalked Bass i kind of miss it. I moved to Utard 10 yrs ago from central California and now my fascination is Trout, Carp and the elusive Mormon fish.

More read ... http://www.flyfield.com/bassfly.htm
  5. Smalma Active Member

Marysville, Washington
    Ratings: +651 / 0
    You didn't say whether the bass were largemouth or smallmouth.