Bass setup question

Discussion in 'Warm Water Species' started by Muskypicker, Jan 1, 2011.

1. Muskypicker Member

Colorado
    Ratings: +1 / 0
    Hello Everyone,

This is my first year really in to fly fishing...grew up in the midwest baitcasting, but live in Colorado now. Every year, we still go back to northern Minnesota and this year I'll be strictly on a fly for musky and bass. My question pertains to the bass setup...can I use my 9' 5-weight trout setup (Z-axis with Nautilus 5/6 FWX) for smallmouth, or will I need to invest in another setup? There are some largemouth, but I would guess it'll be mostly smallmouth action I'll see. Thank you very much for any help you can offer.

Chris
  2. Jmills81 The Dude Abides

Spokane, WA
    Ratings: +102 / 0
    You will be just fine, buy more if you want to but I've landed many bass on my 5 weight up to 5 lbs, both large and smallies

Just shorten your leader up, no need for 10 ft leaders, 5-7 max feet is fine
  3. NDflyfisher Member

North Dakota
    Ratings: +2 / 0
    A 5wt is a little light for casting clousers all day but it can be done. I don't think you will have any problems. What is your muskie set up?
  4. Ryan Singh-Cundy Member

bellingham
    Ratings: +3 / 0
    i 5wt, while not ideal will certainly get the job done and if the bass fishing is slow your also ready for bluegill and panfish action.
  5. suckegg Active Member

Ellensburg, WA,
    Ratings: +87 / 0
    MP it sounds like you have fished there in the past so you should have an idea about a couple factors that may help may you decide what you need.

Are you going to fish on top of lilly pads and be hauling bass out of them? You want more than a 5 if you are.

Are there pike in the water you're going to bass fish? Those pike can beat the bass to the fly and then you have your hands full on a 5 weight.

Is there much wood where you'll want to have a hefty stick to put the brakes on a fish headed for cover?