bassin'

Discussion in 'Stillwater' started by Kirk Singleton, Aug 20, 2010.

1. Kirk Singleton Capt Kirk

Sammamish, WA
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    I am new to this bass stuff. I have gone out to Beaver lake over the last few nights in my canoe. I am throwing some poppers that I tied up. I get a few hits from small largemouth but nothing larger than 4". Nothing gets hooked. Am I doing somthing wrong? Should I get away from topwater? I have been around the lillypads and docks mostly. Thanks for any help! Anybody want to go??
  2. Skysoldier Trout Hunter

Lost in the woods.....
    Ratings: +185 / 0
    Kirk I am not a bass master but I do ok and have found much better luck using large streamers at different depths until I locate the fish, this has worked for both large and smallmouth bass.
  3. JesseC Active Member

seattle, wa
    Ratings: +726 / 0
    You have to put the fly rod down for bass and start chucking some lures. ;)
  4. Stonefish Triploid and Humpy Hater

Pipers Creek
    Ratings: +1,262 / 1
    Couple of things to try with topwaters.
    Even in the evenings there is still some light. Concentrate on the shadow side of any structure you are fishing.
    Secondly, let your popper settle after it hits the water. Don't move or strip it. Let all the rings on the water disappear and wait, sometimes a good minute of so. Some fish will hit it just sitting there, while others will wait for that first strip or movement.
    Good luck,
    SF
  5. Shad Active Member

Elma, WA
    Ratings: +60 / 0