Beggining Pontoon Trip???

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by jcalderon, Apr 22, 2007.

1. jcalderon

jcalderon Member

Media:
    Hey guys. As mentioned in my previous post I am brand new to this stuff! I recently bought a creek company 1018 pontoon and I have been learning to paddle it on the lakes now for about 2 weeks...... I am interested in doing my first river float with it.... My only gear at this point is a 5wt set up..... so Im not ready to fish steelhead ect just yet. What is a good "starter" river to give this thing a spin on???

2. Jim Jones

Jim Jones flytosser

Media:
    The lower Yakima is a good beginner float if you want to head that way. Put in at Ringer or Umtanum and float down to one of the lower takeouts. Not too much in the way of trouble unless something has changed that I don't know about.

Jim Jones

3. Josh Brower

Josh Brower AKA Salmon, Trout, Steelheader

where do you live at? if you live up north more, i would suggest the Snohomish river. i too am new to the pontoon boat world. i would suggest doing a float or 2 without any gear, just to get the feel for floating down river. i would put in at the launch in town and take out at Rotary park.

4. jcalderon

jcalderon Member

Media:
    ya i might try that.... I live about a mile from the snoho.... but i was kind of looking for something a little shallower so i dont have to fish from my pontoon, id rather wade out and fish and just use my toon to get from hole to hole

5. Josh Brower

i live like a mile away too. i live about 2 mins walking from King Charleys. i am going to get an anchor system so i can anchor at the holes i want to fish.

6. Jerry Daschofsky

Jerry Daschofsky Moderator Staff Member

Media:
    Home Page:
    Here's the cool thing. Since alot of the rivers are closing (or are closed) to fishing, I'd suggest just leaving the gear at home and learning to row down the river. I'd hook up with STS and just do a float. Scout the river and get the "feel" of your pontoon.