beginner flies for steelhead

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by Tony, Nov 16, 2004.

1. Tony

Tony Left handed Gemini.

Media:
    I'm thinking of trying to fish for steelhead this year and I've never done it before so I have no flies and after looking at my pattern books searching the archives and just reading a bunch of books and stuff about it I feel frankly overwelmed by the choices, so if a beginner were to sit down to tie a small starter batch of flies which would be the best ones to start with, I'm not looking for any secret patterns or anything like that, just a good selection of common patterns that would work pretty much anywhere and cover most of the bases.
    tony

2. Old Man

Old Man Just an Old Man

Media:
    Wooleybuggers are a good one to start with,And maybe a few Purple Perils or a Popcicle or two. A Green Butt Skunk is a local favorite. Go to the home page and look up some of the things that are there. It's not hard,just do a little search or go to the Gallery and look at some of the flies there.

Jim

3. mike doughty

mike doughty Honorary Member

Media:
    Home Page:
    Egg sucking leeches in black and purples are a good choice to start with and easy to tie.

4. Nooksack Mac

Nooksack Mac Active Member

Here are three simple bucktails with impeccable credentials:

dark fly: Night Dancer
    medium fly: Purple Peril
    bright fly: Fall Favorite

You'll expand your selection of flies in time, of course. But any differences between any subsequent additions and these three standards will be more in your mind and eye than in the steelhead's.

5. cuponoodle breakfast

cuponoodle breakfast Active Member

You don't need anything more than woolly buggers and bunny leeches in a few different colors for winter fishing. Black, purple, and pink would be a good start.

6. Luv2flyfish

Luv2flyfish Another Flyfisherman

Dont forget to pick up a couple black and a couple orange General Practitioners. :thumb:

7. Sageman

Sageman Member

iagree