Belize trip

Discussion in 'Trip Reports with Pics' started by Upton O, Feb 21, 2010.

1. Upton O

Upton O Blind hog fisherman

Home Page:
    The wife and I just returned from Ambergris Caye today where we stayed at the El Pescadore lodge. The lodge, staff, guides and area were absolutely excellent. Terri Anne is the fishing manager at the lodge and she was so helpful with complimentary casting instruction and orientation to fly fishing for bonefish. We had a great time and I'm sure we'll make it a yearly thing if the economy doesn't tank again.

As for fishing, I focused on bonefish since tarpon and permit were pretty much no shows. Since I'm new at this fly fishing, the first day the guide (Carlos) took me to the "beginner's pond" which was a school of bones weighing about a pound that were gathered in four feet of water. He took my rod, made one cast, hooked up a bone, landed it and handed me the rod. The message was clear: there are a lot of fish, cast right, strip-set the hook, play them out and let them go. It took me three casts before I hooked up and landed my first bone on a fly. We fished the school for about half an hour and when I had apparently passed the "minimum acceptable skills test" Carlos took me out on the flats for classic bonefish stalking. I ended the day with 15 or so fish weighing up to near four pounds. The flats fish were real hard running, stripping me well into the backing everytime. It was great easing along in the skiff, watching for fish which the guide ALWAYS saw first. Then the challenge of making the cast, stripping the fly, strip setting at the take, and enjoying the great fight.