Best durable digital camera

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by MX 846, Nov 5, 2012.

1. MX 846 Delusional

Oly Pen... What?
    Ratings: +2 / 0
    Anybody have any suggestions for a good water resistant camera? I have had a Pentax Optio for about 4 years and it is a POS! I know it's not just mine cause I have a friend with the same camera and the thing does the same crap all the time.... make blurry pictures when the sun starts to come down, makes blurry pics if you move slightly, and always has some type of warning icon in the view. Yes I have read the directions twice and set it up specified by manufacture. Ready to piss on it and give it to an enemy! Needs to be compact and fit in my pocket as well.
  2. Steve Knapp Beach Bum

Maple Valley
    Ratings: +260 / 3
    I've been using a Nikon AW100, and I've been really happy with it. I'm not a professional photographer, but it fits my use perfectly. I did take about 1600 pictures with it while on vacation to Europe in September and they came out awesome. From panoramics to close ups of flies. I haven't tried the underwater stuff yet.
  3. Jason Rolfe Wanderer

the beach
    Ratings: +373 / 0
    I've got the Olympus Waterproof/Shockproof camera. It's about 4 years old, but I'd say it works pretty well. It's nothing fancy, but I'm not a great photographer. This one takes good pictures of fish and scenery. I don't use it underwater that often, but when I do I can get some good shots.

J
  4. mtskibum16 Active Member

Puget Sound Beaches
    Ratings: +272 / 0
    I have the Fugi (not sure on model) that Costco sells. I have been very happy with it. Like Steve I'm no pro, but for point and shoot it does great. We bought it for a trip to Maui and we were very happy with all the pictures including panoramas. We got some amazing underwater photos and video as well while snorkelling. Best of all the price is right at ~$250.
  5. Preston Active Member

Ratings: +457 / 0