Best Fly for Freshly Stocked Lake

Discussion in 'Stillwater' started by Analysis Paralysis, Apr 23, 2009.

1. The wife and I are looking forward to the opening this weekend and I have been asked to take her to the place where she is most likely to catch a fish (she hasn't caught one on the flyrod yet). So I have a bit of performance anxiety in that I am hoping that Saturday is the day for her. My question is which fly would you recommend for stocked trout? While I think the san juan worm is probably the best bet, is there a better fly that you would recommend? If it is easy to tie, that would be even better! Thanks!

2. I am new to flyfishing but it's been my impression if you're gonna fish a stocked lake start out dragging an olive wooly bugger around. It's worked well for me so far. Good luck.

3. Yea drag a leech pattern shallow. The fish tend to hang out in the top level of the water column until they adjust to the lake and discover it is deeper than their old environment in a shallow pen. Or find some fly that looks like a brown pellet like the ones they are fed in the pen. And then slap it on the surface until you get the attention of the fish who think it is feeding time at the hatchery! :thumb:

4. Try a Cary Special. I like to twitch the fly every few feet. In those lakes that have been stock, you should have any problems. Hold on to your rod, even those little 10" trout hit hard.