Best place to live for steelhead?

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by Panhandle, Oct 9, 2007.

1. Panhandle

Panhandle Active Member

Media:
    If you could you choose one place to live in the lower 48 states, where you had year round steelheading (Winter and summer runs), where would you live. I love where I live, but I've been thinking about moving back home (Oregon) so that I can be close to beloved fish. I'm thinking SW Wasington, OP, Southern OR/N. Cali. I'm not interested in Bend, or living in a city agian. What you say?

2. Evan Burck

Evan Burck Fudge Dragon

Media:
    Home Page:
    well i'm no zen piscator, but i'd say sw washington.

3. o mykiss

o mykiss Active Member

If steelheading was the most important factor in choosing a place to live, for me it would be Portland (I know you said you didn't want to live in a city, but I would have to at least until I retired because small towns are incompatible with what I do for a living). Plenty of good steelheading nearby and lots of other good options both east and west in Oregon, not to mention the southwest WA streams.

4. Panhandle

Panhandle Active Member

Media:
    I grew up in Portland and My wife grew up in Sandy. Not out of the question, but I'd rather not.

5. gbeeman

gbeeman Active Member

I'd move to Hood River if I could afford it!

GBeeman

6. HauntedByWaters

HauntedByWaters Active Member

That is so easy. Mount Vernon. PERIOD. Wait......

It will be a lot better too once this new generation of fly angler steelhead newbies realize how hard it really is and that they are wasting their time, for now anyway. I am hoping the numbers of newbies twindle in the near future. Last spring the Skagit and Sauk were a NIGHTMARE!