Best SRC places right now??

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by Nol, Jul 28, 2005.

1. Nol Needs to fish more..

Puyallup, WA
    Ratings: +7 / 0
    Does anyone have any advice as to where the best SRC (or whatever else is running) areas there are right now near the Tacoma area?? I am new to SRC fishing (only been out once). :confused:
    Thanks,
    Nol
  2. Teeg Stouffer Fish Recycler

Omaha, NE / Council Bluffs, IA
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    People aren't too forthcoming with "best" places, but "known" places that are consistent producers are a little easier to come by. Try the narrows (Tacoma side, you walk up from titlow) or Titlow park (nice inlet just down from the narrows) or cross the bridge and fish doc's beach.

Otherwise, it's up to you to explore. If you search the site, you'll find information on the kind of habitat which is ideal, although I've caught them over sand, large rip-rap, and cobble-type bottoms, in all tides, and I don't really get out for them that much. So the best spot is where the fish are.
  3. Roger Stephens Active Member

Ratings: +297 / 0
    Nol:

From my experience lately, the SRC have been pretty well scattered on Puget Sound. The Fall and Spring are usually the best SRC fishing times on the Sound. In a couple of months they will be heading towards estuaries in hot pursuit of the chum and pink salmon. So don't give up on the SRC if you don't have much success now.

If you get lucky, you might be able to pick up a few SRC at a location before they move on. As Steve said fish early or late in the day when it is sunny. Low light and cloudy days are best for SRC and particularly silver salmon.

It is a challenging/addictive fisheries since every day is usually different and most trips you will learn/experience something new. That is the beauty of the Puget Sound fisheries along with being able enjoy God's created environment.