Best trails for cascade high lakes

Discussion in 'Stillwater' started by Robert Evans, Aug 13, 2007.

1. Robert Evans

Robert Evans New Member

I'm fairly new to Washigton and have heard great things about these high altitude lakes. I really want to take a trip up to do some trout fishing and am having a hard time finding info. Any ideas between I-90 and 2 would be great. Day hikes, overnights, weekends are all great. If you have maps I'd love to see them.
    Thanks,
    Rob
    :beer2:

2. Itchy Dog

Itchy Dog Some call me Kirk Werner

Media:
    Home Page:
    I'm just waiting for Kent to chime in- he's going to have lots of info for you.

3. Snake

Snake tryin' not to get too comfortable

http://wdfw.wa.gov/outreach/fishing/highlake.htm

Doesn't really explain trails, but has some decent lake recommendations.

That info, along with a state atlas (like a DeLorme Gazetteer) should put you on the right track.

Or check out some hiking guide books (at REI or the library), find a trail into a lake, or pick an area to explore, and get on it.

4. Salmo_g

Salmo_g Active Member

Media:
    Revans,

Where to begin. You've picked an area with scads and scads of lakes. I haven't done much hiking for fishing in that area however. I think you'll generally find that the best fishing is had in lakes that are not serviced by any main hiking trail. I can't show you my maps, and most of them don't cover the area you're interested in. My point still applies tho. Pick a lake that from looking at the map it appears you'd have to bushwhack to. Often there's a rough fisherman's trail leaving a main trail to your intended lake. Know how to use your map and compass, and a GPS is probably a good idea, but those weren't available when I was figuring out how to do this. Have fun and take DEET for the bugs.

Sg

5. Robert Evans

Robert Evans New Member