Bloodworm pattern questions....

Discussion in 'Fly Tying' started by Kaiserman, May 25, 2013.

1. Kaiserman

Kaiserman Phil 4:11-13

Temporarily on earth, longing for home...
    I am going through one of my phases again, where I can't spend enough time at the vise.

Lord knows I have about 40 bazillion $'s in material, and yet I am a total amateur tier. However I do my alright, meaning I can catch fish with the flies I tie. Which I suppose is all a guy can ask.

So, I have a few questions about the bloodworm pattern.

1. How effective is this fly really? Is it worth tying up a dozen or so?

2. What size(s) should I tie?

3. Can anyone (will anyone) share a pic/pattern with me?

4. And though it may seem silly to ask but, do the lakes here in the PNW have bloodworms?

Thanx in advance!!!

Duane J likes this.
  2. zen leecher aka bill w

zen leecher aka bill w born to work, forced to fish

Media:
    The bloodworm is the larvae stage of chironomids and almost all, if not all, lakes have chironomids. Most WA state bloodworms come in about 1" to 1.25" long from what I've observed. Also from my observations bloodworms work best in the Spring and early Summer. After that trout usually transition to other food sources. For example I figured I'd go to this one BC lake in September and knock the snot out of the fish on bloodworm and pupa patterns. Turned out leeches were the best flies.

Bloodworms come in a couple of different colors as I've seen red and green ones. Most seem to be red. A simple pattern is to wrap a # 12 2x long hook with a tuft of red marabou as a tail and a body of either small red v-rib or red stretchy floss. I've caught fish on a hook wrapped with red wire as I use that fly for weight to sink to the bottom quickly.

This is one opinion and you will get more.

For examples of different types of bloodworms do a google on "bloodworm".

Jamie Wilson likes this.
  3. Kaiserman