Bloody Minnow flatwing

Discussion in 'Patterns' started by Thomas Mitchell, Mar 7, 2009.

1. Thomas Mitchell

Thomas Mitchell Active Member

Media:
    Home Page:
    I got a few questions about the fly I tied for the Blackmouth/Coho swap. It's a basic 3-feather flatwing. I tie the same pattern with marabou, bucktail, etc but for the medium small size, I like calftail, especially how it has a slight reflective quality.

This is my self-taught version using Ken Abrames killer book, A Perfect Fish: Illusions in Fly Tying and info on his website www.stripermoon.com. I'm still changing things, looking for better methods and such but it seems to produce a durable fly (except for the JC eyes) that catches searuns & rezzies. I especially like it for high current spots where it swings very nice, just like a steelhead fly. Tying it on a tube makes it easier to keep things straight but the directions are pretty much the same, either way.

Materials:
    TMC 800S #6
    Uni-mono fine/clear
    Tail support - 30 white bucktail fibers
    Tail - layered black/rootbeer/green grizzly saddle
    Underbody - poly bear shrimp (pink flash)
    Wing - red calftail under olive calftail
    Body - flat diamond braid
    Flash - Krinkle mirror flash

Process:

1) Tie in the bucktail support. Strip a bit of down from the base of the first feather and dub in a "pillow" aligned between the point and barb. This will help tie the first feather in flat & straight.
    [​IMG]

2) Prep the first feather, align it on the top of the shank curved up to add spring to the longer feathers. I wrap a few medium tension wraps around the quill then pull the feather through slowly, making sure it's straight and flat. Use fairly light pressure to tie in the feather or it will shift. Lock it down at the bare quill then take the thread back to the pillow.
    [​IMG]