Bobbin advice sought

Discussion in 'Patterns' started by Olive bugger, Jul 22, 2012.

1. Olive bugger Active Member

Woodinville, WA
    Ratings: +440 / 0
    I just placed an order for some Pearsall's Gossamer Silk Thread. I need a small bobbin with a ceramic
    tube to use, for some Soft Hackle flies. Anybody got a good source or recommendation? I have a small
    metal tube bobbin but I prefer the ceramic for obvious reasons.

Thanks for your help.
  2. Jack Devlin Active Member

Western Washington, Puget Sound area
    Ratings: +1,011 / 1
    Charlie,
    I tie a lot of soft hackles with Pearsall's. I'm assuming you have the small spools. The bobbin (got a few) I've been using for 30 years is a Matarelli Midge bobbin. It is steel tube but I've never had a problem. It fits the Pearsalls spools perfectly. I don't know who makes a ceramic tube bobbin that will fit those small spools. Check Griffin, Renzetti, Tiemco etc. You really don't need a ceramic tube. The flies are small, the pressure on the thread is light and you're not using that much thread per fly. A flared (both ends) bobbin would work nicely, too. Feathercraft sells the Matarelli bobbin $20. Hope this is of some help. Photo of my Matarelli bobbin.
    Jack
    PS On my way out to chase some cutthroats! DSC04173.JPG
  3. Olive bugger Active Member

Woodinville, WA
    Thanks for the info, Jack. I too have a couple of Matarelli midge bobbins, if I can find them, but I thought that the ceramic would be better. Guess I over thought the whole process. I will dig mine out and use them. You saved me a few bucks. If I ever meet you, I will buy you a libation of your choice. Thanks again.

Good luck on your quest for the cutthroat.
  4. Dave Evans Active Member

E. WA / N ID
    Ratings: +106 / 0
    Jack, very nice ties! Dave
  5. Jack Devlin Active Member

Charlie,
    Got one small one.