Book or other resource on summer steelheading?

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by Jason Rolfe, Jun 1, 2012.

1. Jason Rolfe

Jason Rolfe Wanderer

I've been wondering if anyone could suggest a good book or something similar on summer steelhead fishing.

It's something I definitely want to try and do a bit of, but I have to admit I'm a noob. I like getting me some booklearning though, so I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

Thanks.

Jason

2. cuponoodle breakfast

cuponoodle breakfast Active Member

I like "Fly Fishing for Summer Steelhead" by John Shewey and Forrest Maxwell. They keep it very basic, and fishing for summer runs should be that way.

3. Brian Thomas

Brian Thomas Active Member

4. constructeur

constructeur Active Member

Media:
    The Seattle public library has a few Steelhead(ing) books, the Trey Combs text shown above being one of them.

5. Rob Allen

Rob Allen Active Member

Dry line steelhead and other subjects by Bill McMillan

if you can find a copy but it is by far the best...

Bob Triggs likes this.
  6. shawn k

shawn k Member

7. Jason Rolfe

Jason Rolfe Wanderer

Awesome, thanks folks. I know I could have searched around Amazon and what not, but I wanted to get some real opinions from you folks. So, much appreciated.

I have Mr. Combs's book, but feel like it's a bit general sometimes. The one by Shewey and Maxwell looks pretty interesting.

McMillan's book is 94 bucks on Amazon!! Wow, must be a good one--shame it's out of print.

Again, thanks. I appreciate the ideas.

8. Salmo_g

Salmo_g Active Member

Media:
    Lani Waller's steelhead videos are now out in DVD in a set of four. That would be a good resource. McMillen's book is good. I should photocopy mine if Amato isn't going to issue another printing.

Actually you don't need a book. Fishing for summer steelhead is like fishing for trout, only different.

Sg

9. Evan Burck

Evan Burck Fudge Dragon

Media:
    Home Page: