Breathable waders vs saltwater?

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by David Loy, Feb 7, 2006.

1. David Loy

David Loy Senior Moment

Question: Are breathable waders damaged by use in saltwater?
    I'm skeptical about advertising information so I'd like to hear your opinions. I know saltwater was fatal to early versions of Gortex.

I have neoprenes (both stocking foot and boot foot) but I'm more comfortable in the Simms Guideweights (Gortex). Felt soles are out (therefore my bootfoot waders too) so I've picked up some Marlwalkers for the stocking foot waders.
    I know neoprene is warmer but I seem to have a high tolerance for cold (nordic blood I guess) so that's not a BIG issue for me.

I've looked through the site using search and didn't find anything specific, so excuse me if this is an old issue. Thanks in advance.

2. Sterling silver

Sterling silver Member

Ben,

I've been using breathable Cabela's waders for a few years with no problems, other than normal wear. If you're wading up to your knees, you won't get too cold, or you can wear fleece pants and be OK. For the winter I use the neoprene with the boot foot. I like the stocking foot approach on my breathables for the comfort of a real boot for hiking on the beach. I have not had any moisture problems from using the breathables in the salt, although I do rinse them off with fresh water after use in the salt.

Sterling

3. kodiaksalmon

kodiaksalmon Jeff B.

I fish mostly saltwater, and have for years, all the while wearing breathables. I've got a pair of Orvis Guides that I've been wearing for four or five years with no problems whatsoever.

Jeff

4. Les Johnson

Les Johnson Les Johnson

I have been using breathables in the salt for at least ten years. My first pair of breathables, Simms Guide Model were purchased more than ten years ago and only recently (two years ago) gave up and not because of salt. I just used them to death.