Bruised Cho-itch Mutt (river silver pattern)

Discussion in 'Patterns' started by Philster, Aug 23, 2007.

1. Philster

Philster Active Member

Quick and dirty silver pattern in the temple dog style, but so cheap and dirty the name had to be downclassed too.

arctic fox wing, with crystal flash, matching hackle, short cactus chenille body (silver in this case, but can match any color wing on flies for humpies and chumleys). Yes Virginia, Silvers do hit on the swing!:cool:

2. Dan Cuomo

Dan Cuomo Active Member

Very cool fly, Philster.

I'm an old fly fisher that's new to the NW - 2 yrs - and new to tying my own flies, but loving it! This fly just looks good and "fishy" to me. I'm not an artist, I'm a fly fisher. And your's is just the sort of pattern that appeals to me. Fishy as hell.

I've been working my way through tying for trout, and SRC and cohos in the Salt. I won't fish anything other than what I've tied myself. As the season demands I'm now begining to target salmon in the rivers. So.... would you be so kind to suggest a handful of effect patterns that someone just finding their way through fly tying could turn out fishable versions of? Your council would be much appreciated.

Dan

3. Philster

Philster Active Member

Hey Dan