Build a better biscuit

Discussion in 'Camping, Hiking, Cooking' started by IveofIone, Aug 29, 2014.

1. IveofIone

IveofIone Active Member

I have been baking biscuits for over 50 years but I always have my ear to the ground for better recipes. Over the years I have used Bisquick and other mixes (no flavor) and also baked canned biscuits (dry and tasteless) before learning how to make baking powder biscuits. By now I can make a decent version practically in my sleep but at times just want to up my game from good to great.

So here is what I do for the extra good stuff. I am using Shepherds Grain flour from right here in Washington. I get it in 50# bags at a restaurant supply store. Salt is the grey French sea salt from Penzy's. Very expensive as salt goes but a pound goes a helluva long ways a teaspoon at a time. Other salt just can't compete for flavor. Use baking powder with no aluminum and always use fresh baking soda. Soda is just pennies for a small box and it is to be changed often. Baking soda is often kept for months and by then you might just as well omit it entirely. It's dead. I mix my dry ingredients the night before and store them in the fridge overnight. Be sure they are sealed as not to pick up any off odors.

In the morning the dry stuff is placed in a food processor while still cold and 6 tablespoons of cold butter added. Pulse briefly to form a course meal then add butter milk and pulse until the dough just comes together in a shaggy wet ball. Turn out onto a floured board and pat into about a 1'' thick circle. Fold 3 or 4 times but don't overwork the dough. A rolling pin will make for tough biscuits that don't rise and too much handwork will warm the dough and reduce the oven spring. Biscuits that touch will rise more than ones that are separated. Bake 10 to 12 minutes but don't over bake. Don't skimp on ingredients, buy quality buttermilk and good butter. I prefer Darigold to the others. Bake on a black cookie sheet if possible.