Building a cataraft

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by isaacfab, Feb 10, 2011.

1. isaacfab Member

West Point, NY
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    Okay, so I'm brand new to rafting, steelheading, fly fishing, and Washington. Okay so not brand new, I've been here for a year or so. I bought my first fly rod when I got here and am hooked for life. I bought a drift boat and have gotten some good use out of it but it is clear that there are some distinct limitations, like possible death if you get in over your head (not that I would ever do that).... Late last summer I was fishing the Rogue and got my first exposure to rafts and decided I had to have one. After quite a bit of research I have settled on a 16' cataraft.

My intention is to update this thread as I build the cataraft over the next few weeks. First I want to make sure that I am not doing anything that is obviously wrong and second I want to give anyone looking to do this themselves a blue print (if there isn't one I didn't find already). BTW it will make its maiden voyage on the Yakima later this month.

Okay so through the forum here and various places elsewhere on the internet I have gathered what I believe is enough information for a solid plan. Here is the set of parts that I am starting with:

Aluminum Tubing 100' (5 x 20' lengths bought at local metal distributor, you can use chain link fence post if you want but it is much heavier)
    Cast Iron Pipe fittings Quik Klmap (got these from two places frontier play ($$$$) and the same ones from Farm Tek at half the price)
    Dry Boxes (frontier play, half the price of anywhere else)
    16' PVC glued tubes (Maxxon I think....the guy I bought them off of on craigslist said they were 'Bad Cat' but I have my doubts)
    Cam buckle straps (from McLendons)
    Anchor System (more to follow...)
    Oar Towers (NRS Short from frontier play)
    Oar Mounts (Sawyer Cobra from Sportco in Fife)
    Floor ( 10' x 34.5" from stitches in stuff in Colorado)