building a rod

Discussion in 'Rod Building' started by Greg Gilliland, Feb 10, 2004.

1. Greg Gilliland

Greg Gilliland Member

Wanting to start building a fly rod, later this spring. Should I buy a exspensive blank or a cheap blank, I have never built a rod before. I am wanting to build a rod for trout say a 5-6 weight, and maybe a rod for steelhead later this summer. Any ideas, help, and or advice would be appreciated.

2. Rob Blomquist

Rob Blomquist Formerly Tight Loops

Media:
    Buy the blank that you want to fish, whether its cheap or expensive. Building a fishable rod is easy, building one pleasing to the eye can be tougher, and builing a piece of art that fishes well, requires an artist that knows fishing rods.

If you are wanting a rod for summer steelhead, a 6 will work well, so you may not have to build 2 rods.

If you live in the North Seattle area, you might want to contact Greg's Custom Rods in the Lake Stevens area. He's a good guy that I visit at least monthly, and I recommend all new people to rod building to. He offers classes, and all kinds of help. www.gregscustomrods.com

There is also an excellent website on this at http://www.flyfisherman.com/rodbuilding/. Read that before you go any farther.

Rob

3. mike doughty

mike doughty Honorary Member

Media:
    Home Page:
    This is my personal opinion. i would start with a good,but fairly cheap blank that way if it gets screwed up you didn't invest a whole lot of money and if it turns out good then you have a good rod. i started with a GL2 and the cabelas FT models. both are decent blanks and around $100.

4. Roper

Roper Idiot Savant

Media:
    Greg, Tight Loops recommendation for Greg's is a good one. Visit him and get a medium priced blank. There's nothing like some guidance with someone to build a rod. It cuts way down on the frustration factor.
    You can build one in his shop while taking his class...

Roper,

Good things come to those who wade...

5. windtickler

windtickler Member