building bamboo rods

Discussion in 'Rod Building' started by Chris Engebo, Aug 23, 2005.

1. Chris Engebo

Chris Engebo Member

Has anyone here built their own bamboo rods? I don't have an extreme desire to use a bamboo rod--I would like to try it, though. What I do have is an extreme love of both flyfishing (I'm VERY new to it) and of woodworking (I've built my own furniture, that kind of thing, but never professionally).

If you've got experience building your own (and I'm talking about starting with bamboo stalks and cutting the strips yourself), what advice would you impart to me? "Turn, run, and forget about it" is a valid answer :) But mainly, I just really want to know what you think, pro or con.

Thanks!

2. Calvin1

Calvin1 Member

Media:
    I haven't actually built one myself, but plan to sometime in the not too distant future. The first step I took was buying Wayne Catanach's book "Handcrafting Bamboo Fly Rods". It's a great resource and is something that I think you'll want to have around. It has rod patterns as well as lots of helpful tips that will aid you through the process.

There are individuals on the board who have built their own rods, hopefully they'll give you some more detailed advice.

Good luck,

Calvin

3. cmtundra

cmtundra New Member

Media:
    No experience here, but this is something I've definitely been considering as well & reading up on. I'll be interested to see the responses. I too am interested in doing everything from the "ground-up" -ie, I want to split my own bamboo and everything. I think most people buy prepared bamboo blanks, but that would take out half the fun of it for me.

Sorry no help from me, but I'm glad you asked the same question I was eventually going to ask.

4. Kent Lufkin

Kent Lufkin Remember when you could remember everything?

Media: