Burkheimer 8134 line

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by Steve Knapp, Jan 22, 2013.

1. Hey guys, breaking out of the Salt only fishing I've been doing for a couple years and jumping into the two-handed world. I'm setting up a Burkie 8134 with a Airflo Compact Skagit. Burkies site recommends 570gr, which is what I'm planning on picking up, but a buddy of mine says 600gr. Thoughts??

If I go with 570gr, would you throw medium or heavy MOW's?

Maybe basic stuff, but I searched the forum and didn't find the answer I was looking for.

Thanks,
    Steve

2. Poppy at the Red Shed has borrow lines. If you can't borrow your buddies 600, I'd check w/ Poppy. Those line recommendations from the manufacturer are a great place to start, but most rods have fairly wide grain windows, so personal preference comes into play. If you've never cast a spey rod, I wouldn't start w/ the heavy MOW's. In fact, I would probably start w/ a Rio versi-leader in a type 6. Crawl before you walk. I've always thought those MOW tips were way too much money anyway.

3. Thanks for the advice Big Tuna, appreciate it. I'm gonna try my buddies setup before I start buying stuff.

4. Great rod. I also own one. The 570 is perfect on it and can throw most anything you need. It will handle a 600 no problem but I would order the Stronger tip if you are going to go in that direction. It would be a bit better at transferring the load deeper into the rod.

5. Phil is right 570 is perfect and that line will throw any sink tip with any fly.. well at least anything you'd use for steelhead.

6. While we are on the subject of this rod, anyone fish the Airflo 510 scandi compact? Is the scandi compact being 4' shorter than the Rio AFS easier to cast, and, what are the main differences between the airflo scandi compact and the Rio steelhead Scandi as both weigh in at 510gr and tape out at 34'... and the Burkheimer website recommends the steelhead scandi 510gr head for this rod... hmm...