Burnt out on the Green.

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by gbhstrat, Jan 1, 2002.

1. gbhstrat

gbhstrat New Member

I am just venting a little. Because I live close to the Green I have been fishing it as a place to go when I just want to fish in the morning. Last week I went out on a nice clear morning at the hole on river bend out by the land slide area below Flaming Geyser. You have to walk about a ¼ mile to get there. I have been exploring the Green for many years and I know almost every hole between Hwy 18 and Tacoma head works. When I got there I was all by myself. Buy 9:00 there were six people fishing the same stretch as me. After a couple of hours with not even a sighting of a fish, I packed up and went to look at some other holes. Up and down the river there were people fishing everywhere. There were the typical 2 or 3 fly fisherman at the RC Airplane parking lot and everywhere else there were bait guys. I guess I am getting burnt out attempting to fish a river that has so much fishing pressure. I realized that the time I spent looking for an open spot I could have drove someplace else. Heck, fly fishing for local trout beats fighting the crowds for a steelhead. As I explored the river I really got depressed, every hole I know about had several people. I know it seems selfish but I would like to see the river closed to all bait above Flaming Geyser. I love fly fishing and I don’t mind sharing any hole with fly fisherman (especially when they share flys that are working), I am just tired of so many people on the green. The Beer cans and all. I guess I will be driving North or West my next time out. Even the Yakama in the snow sounds good to me right now.

2. Steelie L

Steelie L Member

Wait a sec. You don't mind sharing the hole with fly fisherman -- especially when they share flies that are working (how nice for you!) -- but you want to ban those darn bait fishers? Why?